Kiki’s Boys

Just like I don’t intend to have favorites, I don’t intend to acquire a group of Cubs that I think of as my boys. They’re like favorites only…they’re special.

My boys are the guys I like for whatever reason (remember, my reasons aren’t always good), but no one else seems to. I root for them harder because sometimes, I’m the only one rooting. Other fans either don’t like them, down right hate them, or forget about them.

Last season, my boys included Koyie Hill, Xavier Nady, Blake DeWitt, and the Beard Twins. At one point, I was so protective of all of the rookies in the bullpen that I probably would have smacked a chump if they had said something about one of the babies in my presence.

That’s what I do. I talk up their good points and hope they’ll fix their weaknesses. I root for them to do well no matter what.

I root for them because I think they deserve a little love, too. Positive reinforcement and all of that.

I’m not sure who’ll end up being my boys this year (aside from Koyie Hill; he’s a lifetime member, I’m sure). I’m pretty sure I’ll have Blake DeWitt again, though. If people remember he’s on the team, they don’t seem to remember him fondly.

How can you kick this puppy of a person?

It’s okay. I’ve got his back. And all of the other backs that need to be covered.

About Kiki Writes

Tragically unhip writer, rerun junkie, baseball floozy, and fat girl belly dancing. Land of Lincoln Cleavage Queen three years running.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

