It’s Spring!

Spring Training games have begun and I’m wallowing in it like a dog rolls in something foul and probably dead. I’m just as pleased with myself, too.

Three games in and some fans are already judging performance and that’s fine. I’m sure that once I get over the glee of having the boys back on the field and my mind clears away the winter, baseball-withdrawl cobwebs, I will, too. But for now I’m happy to listen to balls and strikes and long drives and double plays.

I’m lucky that I get to listen to the games at work. It pays to have a boss that’s a Cubs fan. But, I’ll be honest, it’s been years since I’ve listened to games on the radio this much. I listened to Pat and Ron some, but I can pretty much guarantee that I’m going to be listening to Pat and Keith more. As much as I loved Ron, I’m good with Keith. He’s not Ron and not trying to be Ron and I dig that.

I’ve always been a more visual person when it comes to baseball. I like listening to it on the radio, but I like watching it on TV better. It’s not that the radio broadcasters of my life have been lackluster (quite the opposite, especially when Pat and Ron hit the scene). I just like to watch. The game, that is. I like the crowd shots. I like to see the diving catches. I like to see Sean Marshall‘s curveball (and Ted Lilly‘s on the rare occasion they show a Dodgers game in my cornfield). I like to see shots of the boys hanging on the dugout rail like 10 year olds. I like to see the actual 10 year olds with their gloves at the ready (or not so ready as they eat nachos, cotton candy, and ice cream).

And there are good looking guys on this team.

Just like Miss America.

Yeah, I said it. I’m shallow like that. Especially when we’re losing 15-7 and Len and Bob aren’t there to discuss epic mustaches and Google “spitoon”.

That first game was enjoyable because it was the first after a long winter, but actually seeing it would have been a whole lot better.

Maybe Pat and Keith can mix in some graphic physical descriptions in with the stats for my benefit. That would be swell.

But, until they start doing my bidding, I’ll just enjoy the play by play and commentary and enjoy the game, win or lose.

Man, I love spring.

About Kiki Writes

Tragically unhip writer, rerun junkie, baseball floozy, and fat girl belly dancing. Land of Lincoln Cleavage Queen three years running.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

