Goodbye and Hello–Part II

I didn’t intend for there to be a part two, but between my bad memory and late signings it ended up being necessary.

Goodbye: Mitch Atkins–I apologize for failing to remember the Orioles claimed you off of waivers. I won’t miss your ERA, but I will miss your name. Not many people are named Mitch anymore. I wish you well with your new team. Thankfully, you’ve got plenty of ex-Cubs to keep you company and exchange war stories with.

Hello Again: Augie Ojeda, Luis Montanez, and Todd Wellemeyer–All back for another go ’round in the Cubs system. It’s like coming home and admitting defeat at the same time. I know how you feel, boys. I did three stints at Wal-Mart. At least you get paid better and work better hours. Welcome back, guys.

Hello: Braden Looper, Scott Rice, Polin Trinidad, Ruby Silva, and Yaniel Cabezas–Three pitchers and two babies from Cuba. I imagine most will be hanging out in various levels of the cornfield (mind the children), but I have no idea what’s going to happen with you, Looper. We’re kind of overstocked on pitchers in the city. Good luck to you anyway. I kind of hope you stick around just because I like your last name. Welcome, boys.

This is the last bit of hello/goodbye I’m doing for awhile. The wagon has been worn out.

Thank goodness pitchers and catchers report next week.

About Kiki Writes

Tragically unhip writer, rerun junkie, baseball floozy, and fat girl belly dancing. Land of Lincoln Cleavage Queen three years running.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

