The Wrigleyville n00b

I have to get something off my chest – I’m a Cubbies n00b. (Does that make me a c00b or something?)

My journey to Wrigleyville only started during the latter part of the 2010 season. I had a surgery that laid me up for nearly two months and I needed something inactive to help me pass the time. Lucky for me my friend Kiki was here to help. She introduced me to the Cubs, watched games with me, and planted the ivy in the outfield of my heart that has grown into full-blown Cubbies love.

Since August I’ve been making a slow, laborious effort to learn about the team and players. I know my brain, so I’m well aware I will never be a foremost expert on the Cubs (or any team) because I get distracted easily and have a very short memory. But the effort is being made.

Before Christmas I began researching by position, starting with catchers since there are the fewest of those. Sadly, my short attention span got the best off me and I don’t believe I got out from behind the plate, though I did find some wonderful pictures. I also learned I may be Koyie Hill’s only fan and to that I say – C’MON! Dude is adorable, on top of being a good player! Quit being so hard on him. Is it because he had a seriously redneck accident? If it is… the rednecks are my people and I think you should like him anyway.

Geo is still my favorite Cub at the moment. I feel like I know the most about him for the time being. My first Cubs gear was a little bear hat and Geo player tee.

The thing I’m most looking forward to in 2011 is finally becoming a “true Cubs fan”. What I mean by that is finally being able to recognize the players without their jerseys, where I don’t have to double-check who someone is in street clothes, or when I know them by number and not just names and can pick them out during pre-game warm-ups, little things like that.

I strive to be a good, knowledgeable, respectful fan. If that makes me wrong, I don’t want to be right.

**Koyie Hill pic courtesy mouthpiecesports.com

About Becca

Greetings friends! Burnt Toast Weekly follows my journey from cooking challenged to, hopefully, cooking master! I’m a 33-year-old data entry ninja and Graduate student (on hold) from Central Texas who has never had much luck with cooking, but I really want to learn. With a little encouragement and assistance from friends my ultimate goal is to become proficient enough in the kitchen to not have to eat out just to get by. I’d very much like to be able to one day do some entertaining, as well. So please, join me on this journey, comment, share recipes, and most of all, enjoy your visit to my blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Wrigleyville n00b

  1. Kiki says:

    I like Koyie Hill, too. He had a down year last year, but I like him as a back-up.

    I’m also pretty sure that his accident automatically makes him an honorary member of my family.

    • I finally saw the picture of his stumpy hand and all I could do was shake my head. Poor guy. I want to pat his head and tell him it’s ok, because he’s good looking, and good looking people don’t have to be smart. Wait, is that superficial of me?

      • Kiki says:

        Yes. You’re forgetting that he’s also funny. He’s said some of my favorite lines. Best one from last year? Upon hitting his first, and only, home run of the season: “Now I have one more than a dead man.”

  2. Ha! I don’t think I’ve ever heard him talk, but now I need to, cause that’s great!

Leave a Reply

